Aeros' Brown Gets Another MVP Award

Jordan Brown ... another MVP award.

Akron Aeros first baseman/outfielder Jordan Brown has been selected as the 2007 Eastern League Most Valuable Player. This is the second consecutive season that he has been the MVP of his respective league. He was named the 2006 Carolina League MVP after batting .290 (137-for-473) with 26 doubles, seven triples, 15 home runs, 87 RBI and 71 runs scored in 125 games for the Class A Kinston Indians.

Brown has been just as impressive in his second full season of professional baseball with the Aeros, posting a league-leading .328 batting average while helping Akron gain its third consecutive trip to the playoffs.

The 23-year-old also among the EL leaders in hits (152-tied 1st), on-base percentage (.418-4th), doubles (33-tied 6th), runs (81-6th), OPS (.891-6th) and RBI (73-11th). He has reached base in 107 out of the 122 games he has played this season for the Aeros, including a streak of 32 in a row from July 14-Aug. 26.

The 23-year old was selected in the fourth round by the Indians in the 2005 draft out of the University of Arizona. During his final season with the Wildcats, he led the Pacific-10 Conference in RBI (80) and batting average .336 (88-for-262) while scoring 62 runs in 60 games as a junior.

The Vacaville, California native has taken home numerous accolades this season, including being chosen to play in the 2007 Eastern League All-Star Game, being named the Eastern League Player of the Week for the week ending April 29th, being selected as the first baseman on the 2007 Eastern League All-Star Team and being chosen as the 2007 Eastern League Rookie of the Year. Brown was also selected by Baseball America as being the "Best Batting Prospect" and having the "Best Strike Zone Judgment" in the Eastern League this season. Earlier in the week, Brown was named the Rookie of the Year in the Eastern League, an award that also was won by Indians outfielder Grady Sizemore when he played for the Aeros in 2003.

Since 1996, only four players - Ryan Howard (2004), Marlon Byrd (2001), Calvin Pickering (1998) and Vladimir Guerrero (1996) - have won both the Rookie of the Year and the MVP awards in the same season. The last Aeros player to win the MVP award was Victor Martinez in 2002.

At Triple-A Buffalo, the Bisons handed out the following team awards for the 2007 season:
1B Ryan Mulhern, Most Valuable Player
LHP Aaron Laffey, Most Valuable Pitcher
INF Luis Rivas, Comeback Player of the Year

Buffalo outfielder Ben Francisco was named to the International League Postseason All-Star Team. Francisco, 25, is second in the IL in hitting (.316), two points behind the leader with four games remaining as he aims to become the first Bisons player since 1990 (Mark Ryal, .334, American Association) to win a batting championship. Recommended Stories

Up Next


1 Fans online
    Join The Conversation