A-OK: Aubrey Allows Aeros To Advance

Michael Aubrey

Michael Aubrey slammed a pair of two-run homers Saturday night to lead the Akron Aeros to an 8-6 win over the Erie SeaWolves -- and into the Eastern League Finals. The Aeros won the best-of-five series in four games and will face the Trenton Thunder, which ousted the defending champion Portland Sea Dogs in four games.

Aubrey, whose career has been stalled at the Class AA level by a series of injuries, led Akron back from a 4-0 deficit.

He followed a two-out single by Jordan Brown with a drive over the right-field wall at Canal Park to bring the Aeros within 4-2 in the fourth inning.

Erie scored twice in the top of the fifth to make it 6-2, but the Aeros came back with five runs in the bottom half.

Rodney Choy Foo and Wyatt Toregas opened the inning with singles and both moved up on a sacrifice bunt by Argenis Reyes. Then Trevor Crowe slapped a two-run single to center to make it 6-4.

Crowe stole second and one out later, scored on a single to left by Brown. Aubrey then put the Aeros ahead to stay with another two-run drive over the wall in right.

Stephen Head hit his third homer of the series in the sixth to make it 8-6.

Bobby Brownlie stuck around long enough to earn the win. The right-hander, who spent four years in the Chicago Cubs organization and was signed out of the independent leagues in mid-season, gave up six hits and six runs over five innings -- though only three of the runs were earned. He didn't walk a batter and struck out five.

Catcher Toregas made a throwing error in Erie's three-run first inning. Aubrey misplayed a grounder at first base that led to a fourth-inning run.

Three Akron relievers combined to work four hitless innings. Michael Finocchi pitched a perfect sixth, Reid Santos fanned three and allowed a walk over two innings and Jim Ed Warden had a perfect ninth for his second save.

Akron won the Southern Division for the third consecutive year and is in the finals for the fourth time in five seasons. A year ago, the Aeros lost in the championship series to Portland. Akron last won the Eastern League title in 2003 with a three-game sweep of New Haven.

Trenton will be making its first appearance in the finals after eliminating Portland, 4-0, Saturday night.

The first two games will be played in Trenton, where the series is scheduled to start Tuesday night. Akron will host game three, and if necessary, games four and five. Call 1-800-97-AEROS for ticket information.

IndiansInk.net Recommended Stories

Up Next


0 Fans online
    Join The Conversation