Scout Premium Content

'Happy' Sabathia Wins AL Cy Young

C.C. Sabathia ... 2007 Cy Young Award winner.

C.C. Sabathia finally beat Josh Beckett. The Indians' left-hander was elected the 2007 American League Cy Young Award winner in balloting by the Baseball Writers Association of America. He becomes only the second Cleveland pitcher in 52 seasons to win the award, joining Hall of Famer Gaylord Perry, who won it in 1972. Sabathia got 119 points in the voting to easily beat Boston's Beckett.

"I was excited when I got the phone call," Sabathia said from his home in California. "I didn't really know what to expect and it hasn't really sunk in yet. I think when I get a chance to sit and talk with my family, I'll feel a little more emotion. Right now, I'm just happy." Voting was held immediately after the end of the regular season and before the playoffs, where Beckett twice beat... Recommended Stories

Up Next


2 Fans online
    Join The Conversation