Mills, Huff Named Best On The Farm

Beau Mills and David Huff, both highly regarded top draft picks by the Cleveland Indians in recent years, have been named recipients of the organization's 2008 Minor League Player and Pitcher of the Year awards. Mills is the 2008 winner of the Lou Boudreau Award as the top minor league position player. Huff is the Bob Feller Award winner as the top minor league pitcher.

Mills, 22, batted .293 (141-for-482) with 78 runs, 34 doubles, 21 homers and 90 RBI with a .506 slugging percentage in 125 games with the Class A Kinston Indians. Following the season, he was named the Carolina League's Most Valuable Player.

Picked in the first round (No. 13 overall) in 2007, Mills was named to both the mid-season and post season Carolina League All-Star teams as he finished tied for the league lead in homers, second in RBI and total bases (244), third in slugging percentage and extra-base hits (58) and fourth in total hits (141).

Mills hit .332 with 10 homers and 40 RBI over his final 49 games of the season.

In 146 1-3 innings overall, he gave up only 112 hits and 29 walks while striking out 143 and limited opponents to a .210 batting average. That was the 11th lowest mark among all full season minor league pitchers.

Huff, 24, combined to go 11-5 with a 2.52 ERA in 27 games including 26 starts between Double-A Akron and Triple-A Buffalo. In 146 1-3 innings overall, he allowed only 112 hits and 29 walks while striking out 143. He also limited opponents to a .210 batting average -- the 11th lowest mark among all full-season pitchers in the minors.

He opened the season at Akron, going 5-1 with a 1.92 ERA in 11 games including 10 starts.

Promoted to Buffalo on June 11, the lefty was 6-4 with a 3.01 ERA in 16 starts for the Bisons. Over his last nine starts, he was 4-2 with a 2.32 ERA.

Huff, a sandwich-round pick (No. 39 overall) in 2006 out of UCLA, led all Indians minor league pitchers in ERA, and was second in innings pitched and strikeouts (143).

1990: Jim Thome, 3b
1991: Manny Ramirez, of
1992: Ken Ramos, of
1993: Jim Thome, 3b
1994: David Bell, 3b
1995: Richie Sexson, 1b
1996: Russell Branyan, 3b
1997: Sean Casey, 1b
1998: Alex Ramirez, of
1999: Scott Morgan, of
2000: Billy Munoz, 1b
2001: Victor Martinez, c
2002: Victor Martinez, c
2003: Grady Sizemore, of
2004: Ryan Garko, c
2005: Ryan Mulhern, 1b
2006: Kevin Kouzmanoff, 3b
2007: Asdrubal Cabrera, ss
2008: Beau Mills, 1b

1990: Charles Nagy, rhp
1991: Mike Soper, rhp
1992: Chad Ogea, rhp
1993: John Carter, rhp
1994: Steve Kline, lhp
1995: Danny Graves, rhp
1996: Danny Graves, rhp
1997: Marc Deschenes, rhp
1998: David Riske, rhp
1999: Robert Pugmire, rhp
2000: Jason Stanford. lhp
2001: Mike Bacsik, lhp
2002: Billy Traber, lhp
2003: Fausto Carmona. rhp
2004: Adam Miller, rhp
2005: Jeremy Sowers, lhp
2006: Adam Miller, rhp
2007: Aaron Laffey, lhp
2007: David Huff, lhp Recommended Stories

  • Peyton Manning emerged alone atop yet another category in the NFL record book tonight vs the Niners, as he tossed touchdown #509 under the national spotlight of Sunday Night Football (NBC). (Photo…

  • Former USC and NFL running back LenDale White added tons of drama to what was a relatively quiet Homecoming weekend for the Trojans.

  • Here’s a way to watch football and improve your golf swing at the same time. In your living room (or on the range), practice the one-minute golf swing, as shown in this video. Set the timer on your…

  • Dr. Roto, like many others, can't believe Seattle Seahawks QB Russell Wilson (pictured above) passed for over 300 yards and rushed for over 100 yards in the same game. First time that's ever happened…

  • As soon as those winds fall off, get into the stand! I always tell people you can't kill them if you aren't out, but if you want to try and pick an opportune time – this is it.

Up Next


4 Fans online
    Join The Conversation